Recipes · RECIPES · Sides · Snacks

Garlicky Cauliflower “Breadsticks”

SONY DSCSo…like pretty much every other woman on the planet, my archenemy is bread. Carby carby bread. I could eat an entire loaf of homemade bread straight out of the oven and not even feel guilty about it…well until I can’t zip up my jeans.

I want breadsticks with pizza, toast with breakfast, and an extra slice of bread on my sandwich. I’m just kidding about that last one…kind of.

Since I love bread so much, but not particularly being five thousand pounds, these cauliflower “breadsticks” are perfect. …because they taste like bread…but aren’t. Nifty huh? No, I didn’t come up with this awesomeness alone. I was inspired by Pinterest. …and I did something about it–for once. I did modify the original recipe a bit because it didn’t include garlic…and I didn’t feel right about not adding garlic to these. Oh and it needed Parmesan. Fresh Parmesan. I hope you enjoy them…along side a cup of hot marinara or cold ranch dressing.SONY DSC

Garlicky Cauliflower “Breadsticks.”

Ingredients:

1/2 head of cauliflower, grated

1 whole egg, plus one egg white, lightly beaten

2 cloves of garlic, crushed

1/4 cup 2% shredded mozzarella cheese

¼ cup fresh Parmiggiano Reggiano

Dried Italian seasoning

1 teaspoon olive oil

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix all ingredients together (except oil) in a large bowl until evenly distributed.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and use olive oil to grease the parchment paper.

Spread and flatten the cauliflower mixture on the parchment paper evenly – about 1 inch thick. Square off the edges so it looks like a rectangle or square.

Bake for 40 minutes until slightly dried out, browning, and firm to the touch.

Remove from oven and using a spatula carefully peel away from parchment paper. Flip over and return to oven for 10 more minutes. Serve with dipping sauce. Marinara or ranch dressing go great with these!

Love, Grey & Brianna

Broccoli, Chicken, and Mushroom Saute Grey and Brianna’s 

Roasted Garlic and Cauliflower Flatbread Pizza Aggie’s Kitchen 

Grated Cauliflower Salad Cookin’ Canuck 

Banana Coconut Bread  Grey & Brianna’s 

 

One thought on “Garlicky Cauliflower “Breadsticks”

Leave a comment