RECIPES · Uncategorized

Vegan Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Dear Friends,

Thank you for all of your kind words about our sweet baby girl’s arrival! It has been a month pure babyland in our house. Greyson just turned two last week, and has been a chock-full of energy. Between playing with him and stopping to nurse our baby girl almost every hour, when she’s awake, there seems to no time left over for much else.Apologies to anyone that stops by to visit our very lived in-house. It is quite evident that memories are being made here! Greyson is tall enough to open the drawers in our kitchen, and as I’m cooking, I get to find surprise race cars, and ninja turtles right along side our tin foil and silverware. I have to say, I’m loving the variety 😉

I had the brilliant idea to type “things to occupy a two-year old” into google. Which spat out all kinds of ideas to try. I chose beans. Put dry beans in a bin with toys, and let them have a textural experience! I’ve been sweeping up beans every day, and finding them in, you guessed it–drawers. “Oh there’s another lovely little garbanzo bean gracing me with it’s presence,” as I grab a bag of tea. Literally as I am typing this in my kitchen I just spotted another one under one of our bar stools.Anyways, I should get on with the business of this post before I get on a whole other tangent about other activities (some good, some that leave me wondering who the heck thinks of some of this stuff) we’ve tried via good ‘ol pinterest.

Oatmeal raisin cookies are on my top 5 favorite cookie list–for sure! Growing up, my mom used to make oatmeal raisin cookies with a pinch of ground clove. The combination of the buttery-sugary-spiciness was such a treat. I don’t really want to shouldn’t eat that version of oatmeal raisin cookie on  a regular basis and these are the perfect solution.

These cookies can double as breakfast in my opinion. Grey and I were noting how they would be a great snack/breakfast/dessert to bring along on a hike because they are so packable. They are basically a bowl of oatmeal in cookie form ;).

There is only five ingredients that make them up which all happen to be in our pantry list–so last minute baking is a cinch. I still love my mom’s oatmeal raisin cookie recipe, which I may just have to post sometime in the future (maybe during the holidays), but this one hits the spot for a little day-to-day indulgence!

Love, Grey & Brianna

Vegan Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Prep time: 10 minutes | Cook time: 25 minutes | Serves: 18

Ingredients:

cooking spray

2 ripe bananas

½ cup raw cashews

½ teaspoon cinnamon

2 cups rolled oats

½ cup raisins

Directions:

Put the oven rack in the middle position, and preheat to 300 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray with cooking spray.

In a large bowl mash the bananas with a fork. In a food processor or high powered blender, add cashews and blend on high for 30 seconds, or until cashews are ground very small or powdery. Make sure not to blend the cashews into butter!

Add the remaining ingredients to the bowl with the bananas. With a rubber spatula, incorporate all the ingredients together.

Use your hands to roll out balls of dough, and flatten them onto the cookie sheet. Because they contain no leavening they will not rise, so you can put them pretty close together. Bake for 20-30 minutes or until the edges are lightly browned and the cookies are chewy.

 

One thought on “Vegan Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Leave a Reply

