RECIPES · Sides

Edamame Succotash

SONY DSCI rarely make extravagant sides to go with dinner. After finishing the “main” part of the main course, I’m ready to steam some broccoli and call it a day. .. but if it is easy (and delicious) enough…I will sometimes go out on a limb to create an actual “side” recipe. We’ve made this edamame succotash twice now.SONY DSC Grey and I both like the taste and nutritional value that edamame has, so we were were glad to have found a way to eat it besides dried (our go to snack) and steamed with salt. Although these are both very tasty, it doesn’t hurt to have a little variety of flavor!SONY DSC

If your worried about shelling the edamame. Don’t. It really does go quite quickly. It takes me about 5 minutes to shell an entire 12 oz bag.SONY DSC If that is still two long. Buy it already shelled, you’ll need about a cup this way. If your a fan of succotash (and even if your not) try this recipe. You’ll have a fancy new side to show off at dinner time.

Hope your family loves it!

Love, Grey & Brianna.SONY DSC

 Edamame Succotash

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons toasted sesame oil
1/2 cup finely diced red onion
1 clove minced garlic
2 strips smoked turkey bacon finely chopped
12 oz bag of frozen edamame, thawed
1/2 cup frozen corn kernels
½ small-diced red bell pepper
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

Directions:

Shell the edamame into a small bowl (you should have about one cup.)
In a large skillet, heat the sesame oil over medium heat. Saute the onion and garlic until softened. Add the turkey bacon and cook until it begins to crisp, about 5 minutes.

Add the edamame, corn and bell pepper and saute for 2 to 3 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Remove from the heat and serve hot.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Edamame Succotash

  1. I hope I’ve figured out the right way to leave a comment. I love your recipes (and the entire blog). Thanks for this recipe. I buy the frozen side dish at Trader Joe’s. They call it soycutash. Hmm…maybe I’ll try making it myself now.

    1. Hi Louise! It’s good to hear from you. Thanks for the compliment on our blog…we just love cooking and sharing new recipes. This recipe is one of Grey’s new favs. He informed me last night that I could make it ANY time I want 😉 Soycutash?? How cute! I wish I thought of that one on my own. I hope you give this recipe a try. Let me know what you think! 😀 Love, Bri.

Leave a Reply

