Recipes · RECIPES · Soups/Stews

Spicy Tomato Soup

SONY DSCI am a routine person. I like to have my morning ritual of reading my bible while drinking a non-fat latte, which is followed by putting on my make-up by our front window in the kitchen. In the evenings I give Greyson a tubby, feed him, and put him to bed. I get so used to these routines that any little change throws me off. Then I’ll spend the next couple days re-calibrating to a new routine.

With the start of school a couple of weeks ago, I had to move things around and develop a new slightly more hectic routine to fit in just one more thing. ..and don’t even get me started about how much I move around my daily “routines” with a two month old.SONY DSC

I guess the point of all of this, is that my daily rituals are starting to look less and less like an organized routine, and more like a collection of tasks squeezed in here and there whenever I can get them done. I clean my kitchen at 2:00 in the morning, sometimes I shower at noon, I practically never fold my laundry anymore, instead of an organized meal plan, I usually look into our cabinets and whip something up out of what we already have.

The result? At first I thought I was going to go crazy. Literally. I saw myself six months down the road vigorously rocking in a dark corner surrounded by a bunch of unfolded laundry. Haha. Relax…I’m only kidding (kind of.) Now I’m adjusting the the routine of having no routine.SONY DSC

My new motto: Just keep working towards something you want to accomplish today. Who cares if you make dinner at 10:00 in the morning and put on make-up right before your husband comes home at 5:00 in the evening.

Maybe someday I’ll get back to wonderfully organized routine, but for now I get things done when I can get them done, and make soup out of canned beans, frozen corn, and store-bought salsa; and that’s okay too.

I hope you enjoy this soup, it’s one of my new favorites.

 Love, Brianna

Spicy Tomato Soup

Ingredients:

2 cup whole wheat shell pasta

1 15 oz can of tomato sauce

1 15 oz can of diced tomatoes in juice

1 15 oz can of diced tomatoes with green chiles

1 15 oz can of black beans

1 cup of frozen corn

1 ½ cups chicken stock

1/3 cup salsa

3 teaspoon dried oregano

1 teaspoon ground cumin

2 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon dried basil

½ teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

shredded cheddar or montery jack cheese

 Directions:

Cook pasta al dente according to package instructions. In a large stockpot combine all remaining ingredients and heat over high heat until boiling. Reduce heat to simmer,add cooked pasta and cook for an additional 10 minutes. Garnish with cheese.

Note: Serve with quesadillas 😉

 

Leave a Reply

