Garden · GARDEN/HOME · Homestead

Sweet Basil Bouquets.

SONY DSCDear Friends,

Our basil is thriving this year. When I planted it back in June, the wispy little leaves looked like they weren’t going to make it. Surely, I must have divided our basil plants to many times before planting, I thought. They were floppy, and could barely hold themselves up. Almost as soon as we turned the calender page to July, our little basil leaves turned to big basil plants.SONY DSC

Earlier this week, I was making chicken with a tomato basil sauce, to start using up some of this beautiful sweet basil. As I was crusting the chicken, I asked Grey if he would mind picking some from the garden for the sauce.

I put the chicken in the pan, and started chopping tomatoes when he bounded back into the kitchen with two bushels of basil each bigger than my wedding bouquet. Who knew basil could look so romantic?SONY DSC

Folks, this man knows how to pick some basil. I needed (maybe) a cup for dinner, and what I had was about ten cups of packed fresh basil..

…I guess it was me that didn’t specify how much.

Anyways, I sealed the rest up, and stashed it away in our refrigerator to be used later in the week. Since then, we’ve made basil this, and basil that, and I can’t wait to share the recipes with you.

Hope your summer days are long and sweet.

Love, Grey & Brianna

4 thoughts on “Sweet Basil Bouquets.

Leave a Reply

