GRATITUDE · Kitchen Table · Motherhood

Today Is My Due Date.

SONY DSCAs soon as I heard, we were having a July baby, I looked down at my tummy and made a pact with our new son or daughter to be. “Alright, July 11th? That sounds just fine. But we’re not going to be ‘overdue,’ …It is the heat of the summer, after all.”

Until now, I’ve felt fairly confident that baby had taken this agreement seriously. As a matter of fact, on the Fourth of July I woke up thinking: “this could be my baby’s birthday.”

On July 5th I entertained: “today could be our baby’s birthday.”

…July 6th: “I could be throwing a party for our son or daughter on this day for the next 18 years.”

Then, I had multiple people say: “you know, I think the seventh is going to be the day…’I have a feeling.’”

This has been going on for a week!

I woke up this morning, on our actual due date feeling less hopeful that we are going to have the baby today…but certain that the baby will come when he or she wants to.

…and feel quite silly looking back at our photos around 20 weeks. I honestly thought there was no way on earth my belly could get any bigger…oh…bless my heart.

SONY DSC…but this baby grew…

6 weeks

6 weeks

…and grew…

SONY DSC
8 weeks

…and grew…

14 weeks
14 weeks

…and grew…

26 weeks
26 weeks

 

…and grew…

34 weeks
34 weeks

…and grew…

38 weeks

38 weeks

…and grew…

39 weeks
39 weeks

…and grew…

SONY DSC
40 weeks

…and is now quite comfortable where he or she is at. The funny thing? I am too. I feel like my regular old self with a basketball stuffed under my shirt. I’ve accepted the fact that this baby will be here when he or she is here….

…but that doesn’t mean I’m going to stop eating pineapple, going for long evening walks, doing yoga on the stairs, squats while dinner is cooking, and standing on my head with one eye open (I’m kidding about that last one…that would be ridiculous…and counter productive ;)). 

40 weeks
40 weeks

Hope God gives you (and me!) the patience for whatever you are waiting for today.

Love, Brianna.

11 thoughts on “Today Is My Due Date.

  1. I admire that you are resting with the patience that your baby will come when he/she wants to. You are standing at the threshold of the biggest change in your life right now so savour these moments. Your reference point will now forever be Before Kids and After Kids. I type this whilst my youngest is lying sick and miserable in the bed beside me and we have now postponed plans for a last day of holidays trip to the movies. Praying for you and a sweet delivery soon.

  2. Good luck on your delivery whenever it happens. July is a great month for birthdays. We have a lot in my family. My granddaughter’s is July 4th. She’s our little firecracker. Mine is July 7th. My husband’s is July 10th. One of my son-in-law’s is July 12th. My two girls were due in July, but one was early and one was late. But still we all have our birthdays within 6 weeks of each other. It makes for a lot of celebrating during the summer don’t you think. Enjoy this special, special time in your life. It goes by so fast. God Bless you and your little family. p.s. your picnic story was so funny.

    1. Thank you! I am trying to enjoy every moment of this pregnancy while it lasts. …but I am just so excited to meet our son or daughter! Grey’s birthday is in September and mine in December…so it will be nice to have a birthday to celebrate in July! 😀 What a fun month you have though with all the birthdays. Oh! Hope you have a wonderful day celebrating your son-in-law’s birthday today…make sure to have an extra slice of cake ;)! Blessings to you and yours. ~Brianna

  3. I just wanted to say how beautiful you look. Pregnancy is often portrayed as so tiring, and it is but most media shows a pregnant woman is disheveled, and unhappy. You are proving attitude is everything. Enjoy the time you have. Enjoy your baby when it get here. I will be saying a prayer for both of you.

    1. Thank you. Pregnancy is such a beautiful process, and I cannot wait to meet our new son or daughter. Thanks (especially) for your prayers. **Blessings** to you and the ones you love!

  4. This was a beautiful post and you look great! I admire that you are willing to wait on the Lord’s timing and with a happy heart. I pray that you and your baby are doing well.

  5. You look beautiful, sweetie! to quote my midwife for our first daughter (now 33), “When the peach is ready it will drop!” Prayers going up for safe delivery for you both. Just think, soon your baby will be fresh from God! k

  6. How beautiful you are! Enjoy every last moment, because this is the last tme he or she will be 100% YOURS to cradle! God’s blessings of peace, comfort, strength, and a healthy baby!

Leave a Reply

