GRATITUDE · Holidays · Kitchen Table

Our Father’s Day Highlights.

 “As a father has compassion on his children, so the LORD has compassion on those who fear him”(NIV) ~Psalm 103:1

Father's Day Card.
Father’s Day Card.

This was Grey’s first official Father’s Day…well official to us. Our son or daughter will be here in only a few more weeks, and is very much already part of our family. 🙂 Since this is the FIRST  Father’s Day I wanted to do something special for Grey. He kind of made it impossible for me to top the gift he got me on Mother’s day, but I did my best.

We  started the celebration on Saturday and went to one of Grey’s favorite places—TEVANA, because he loves tea. Good quality loose leaf tea. We usually make the drive to TEAVANA every couple of months to stock back up on his favorite green, oolong, white, and herbal teas, but it has been more than a couple months…maybe more than six. :/ This trip was definitely overdue!

SONY DSC

Before we left, I made one of our favorite breakfasts–whole wheat pancakes with home canned cherries. On the way down, we passed some beautiful sunflower fields. (I was more excited about this part of the trip than Grey, I just had to share it ’cause it was so pretty!) 

SONY DSC
sunflower fields

After TEAVANA, we went to a few more of our favorite stores: Whole Foods Market, Sportsman Warehouse, and Williams-Sonoma. When we were all shopped out, we headed back home, to spend the rest of the evening putting away the new tea and relaxing a bit before we went to see the new Superman movie: Man of Steel! This was a perfect Father’s Day movie to end the day.SONY DSC

On Sunday, we had breakfast at Tremont Cafe with my mom, dad, and brother. We gave my dad a can of pickled beets (no…not as punishment), and spent the morning visiting.SONY DSC

Grey wanted to relax for the rest of the day before we met up with his dad in the evening. I made coconut white chocolate chunk cookies for Glynn, then we headed to Grey’s sister’s pretty new house for dinner.

My Dad and Grey.
My Dad and Grey.

We had delicious turkey chili with cornbread muffins. 🙂 This is where the picture taking got a little fuzzy for me. So I just had to find one of my favorite pictures of Grey, his dad, and Grandpa to show you …because it was Father’s Day after all. This was three years ago! Time goes so fast…

SONY DSC

I hope you cherished the Dad’s in your life on this day, whether they are near or far.

 “The father of a righteous child has great joy; a man who fathers a wise son rejoices in him.”(NIV) ~Proverbs 23:24

 Love, Brianna.

Leave a Reply

