Books · GRATITUDE · Kitchen Table

Book, Coffee, Biscotti: Proof of Heaven

lalaThis weekend I finished a book I started only a few days earlier: Proof of Heaven: A Neurosurgeon’s Journey into the Afterlife by Eben Alexander M.D. I was told about this book from an unsuspecting coworker, and knew I wanted to read it since.

I’ve never put much weight into near death experiences and the stories that are born from them in regards to what heaven is actually like. …but then again I’ve never really studied the subject that rigorously.

This book though, was very insightful and heartwarming. I loved the clear- cut scientific language that the author writes with to explain his experience. I am not in agreement with everything that this book has to say about religion, but there were moments that I had to put the book down, say a prayer, and nod my head in agreement.

One passage that shook me (and the only one that I circled the minute I read it,) read: “At last, I understood what religion was really all about. Or at least was supposed to be about. I didn’t just believe in God; I knew God. As I hobbled to the alter to take Communion, tears streamed down my cheeks” (148). This just filled my heart with so much joy that this is written into a book that is not only a #1 New York Times Bestseller (and read by many), but from the person it is written by.

I cried when I read the poem that was included towards the end of the book. I cried like someone had left this poem just for me. Even though the poem were not the words of the author, I had to include this as one of the most moving parts of the book because it enhanced the experience for me as a reader.

One of my favorite reviews is written by Bruce Greyson, M.D., co-editor of The Handbook of Near-Death Experiences, he writes: “Dr. Alexander’s neuroscience career taught him that near-death experiences are brain-based illusions, and yet his personal experience left him dumbstruck. His honest struggle to make sense of this unforgettable journey is a gripping story, unique in literature of spiritual experiences, that may well change how we understand our role in the universe.”

I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and recommend it!

Have an awe-inspiring kind of day.

Love, Brianna

One thought on “Book, Coffee, Biscotti: Proof of Heaven

Leave a Reply

