Books · GRATITUDE · Kitchen Table

Book, Coffee, Biscotti: The Story of GOD and All of Us.

GODSince the Bible Series on the History Channel was so good back in March, I decided to read the book that tells the same stories in the series (and no I’m not talking about the Bible, though I am in the midst of reading that book–for the rest of my life 😉 ) This one is called: The Story of GOD and All of Us by Roma Downey and Mark Burnett. It tells the stories in The Bible like a novel. I enjoyed this book, because even though reading the stories second hand does not compare to reading the actual Bible, there were some specific details that I missed when I’ve read them in the past. I found myself reading my Bible concurrently, and fact checking whenever I sat down to read the book.

Since I am a fairly new believer, I found this book to be very useful in understanding the timeline, history, and people that are talked about in the Bible–as a basic outline. This is (by all means) not an extensive account of what happened. There were so many people and books, that were not told. This book highlights the characters of:
Abraham
Sarah
Joseph
Moses
Joshua
Rahab
Samson
Saul
David
Daniel
John the Baptist
Mary
Jesus
The Disciples
Paul

Which is a great start to understanding some of the history of the Bible.
Good reads gave this book a 4.24 out of 5 star rating:

“Beginning with the creation of man and ending with the revelation of a new world, readers will revel in this epic saga of warriors, rebels, poets, and kings, all called upon by God to reveal His enduring love for mankind. Ultimately, God’s plan is fulfilled in the story of Jesus the Messiah, whose life, death and resurrection brings salvation to one and all” (except from Good Reads.com.)

I recommend this book if you are looking to brush up on your (basic) understanding of biblical accounts…and if you’re in for an on-the-edge-of-your-seat-kind-of-story” ;).

Have you read the book or watched the series?– What did you think?
Love, Brianna

 

 

One thought on “Book, Coffee, Biscotti: The Story of GOD and All of Us.

Leave a Reply

