Recipes · RECIPES · Sides

The Best Steamed Artichokes

 

SONY DSC
We don’t eat artichokes very often. They are one of those vegetables that I often forget about. Kind of like cauliflower and… leeks… and… eggplant. They just get pushed to the back burner until you get tired of always eating carrots, beets, celery. Whenever I “discover” these hidden treasures again, I get so excited.

Artichokes are amazing!”

I remember when my mom made artichokes when I was a kid. I always felt ambivalent about the whole situation. They were okay…I guess….actually they were kind of confusing for an eight-year-old.

SONY DSC

What is a kid supposed to do with a big flowery thorn? They lick whatever the dipping sauce is off of the leaves, of course, then leave the rest for someone else. Lucky for me my older sister loved “the heart.”

Oh the dreaded heart….

Eating it was not something I was ever interested in as a kid. 1) It looked weird 2) Eating “a heart” sounded kind of scary. That was enough for me to give away what I consider now, the best part of the ‘choke.
SONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSC

Grey was the first one to actually show me how to eat the heart of an artichoke. I was up for trying it, once I realized there is more to life than licking mayonnaise off an artichoke leaf.

I gotta say…it’s pretty delicious. If you haven’t done it yet. Just eat one. Get over it. You’ll like it.

Usually when preparing artichokes there is lemon involved to preserve the color of the leaves to keep them looking fresh upon serving. This recipe incorporates that, and steams the ‘chokes in chicken broth rather than water, which to me, makes them more flavorful. My favorite part of this recipe is the fact that we throw minced garlic and olive oil right into the steaming pot. Giving no reason to even need something to dip them in. The leaves come out garlicky and “buttery.”SONY DSC

Ready to have the best steamed artichokes? …well in my opinion at least.

 

SONY DSCHere’s the recipe! 

The Best Steamed Artichokes

Ingredients:

4 garlic cloves, minced
2 bay leaves
2 lemons, cut in half
1/4 cup white wine
2 tablespoons olive oil
4 cups of chicken broth or water
Salt and pepper, to taste
2 whole artichokes

Directions
Put the garlic, bay leaves, lemons, wine, oil and broth in a large pot and bring to a simmer. Season the liquid with salt and pepper. In the meantime prepare the artichokes.
Wash artichokes under cold water. Using a heavy stainless steel knife, cut off the stems close to the base. Pull off the lower petals that are small and tough. Cut off the top inch of the artichoke and rub with half a lemon to preserve the green color. Trim the thorny tips of the petals with kitchen shears.


Place the artichokes in the steaming liquid, bottom up. Cover and simmer for about 30 minutes. The artichokes are done when a knife is inserted into the base and there is no resistance.

Steamed artichokes may be served hot or cold.

Love, Grey and Brianna

You may also enjoy:

 How to prepare whole artichokes Grey and Brianna’s

Summertime Fritatta Recipe with Artichoke, Tomato, and Basil Cookin’ Canuck

Skinny Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip Grey and Brianna’s 

 

One thought on “The Best Steamed Artichokes

Leave a Reply

