GRATITUDE · Kitchen Table · Travel

Sonoma in April, Grandparents, and a Crazy Cat Story.


SONY DSCThis weekend Grey and I took another trip to Sonoma County. We haven’t visited since Christmas, so this trip was definitely overdue. I spent all Friday morning, getting the house “going-away-for-the-weekend-ready” (all clean for when we got home on Sunday), packing, and getting the car in tip top shape for the journey.SONY DSCSONY DSC

On Saturday morning we woke up around 6:00am, had breakfast and were out the door at 7:30am only stopping once before we got there around 12:30pm. We surprised my grandparents by getting there so early. Since we had the time, we made a quick trip to Santa Rosa to go shopping and check out the new TEAVANA.SONY DSC

When we got back to the ranch, Grey and I walked around to enjoy the cool Sonoma weather and the beautiful green trees and colorful flowers that were blooming everywhere. We took a short nap before going to dinner in Sonoma at the Breakaway Cafe with my grandparents. Dinner was delicious. I had a classic hamburger, and Grey had the salmon. We spent the rest of the evening listening to stories and talking with my grandparents.SONY DSCSONY DSC
SONY DSCSONY DSC

When we woke up in the morning, we took one more stroll around the ranch to enjoy the foggy weather and  dewy morning. We had breakfast at palms and listened to my Grandpa tell us a story about how he and my grandma tried to capture one of their cats (who is not so domestic) to take it to the veterinarian. This was the highlight of the trip for me. My grandpa got himself laughing so hard, we could only hear bits and pieces of “the cat”….. “paws spread” “not going in” in the midst of laughter straight from the belly. Pretty soon we were all laughing so hard it hurt.SONY DSCSONY DSC

Before we left, my Grandpa told me that he remembers me when I was only “this tall” pointing to the height of his knee, when I would follow him around on the ranch asking about cows and if it was safe to go here and there. Just the night before as we were sitting in their living room he told us of so many things about his life that I was completely unaware of. The relationship between a grandparent and grandchild is so special to me. It is unique of all other relationships, I think, because of time. Time makes it seem like a grandparent and a grandchild live in almost two different worlds, yet they are still so connected.SONY DSCSONY DSC

I could probably write a book about all the ways I cherish my relationship with my grandparents, so I’ll stop right here. Otherwise my disorganized thoughts might give you the impression that I have no idea what I’m talking about…which is partly true…not on that subject though … so I guess that point is moot.

 Anyways, happy Monday.

Thanks for reading.

Go hug your grandparents.

Love, Grey & Brianna

I you liked this post, you may also like: 

December Flowers in Sonoma

Sonoma County Fair…and then some

Calico Fair Fun Run 5k and a fancy schmancy restaurant

2012:Our first year

2 thoughts on “Sonoma in April, Grandparents, and a Crazy Cat Story.

Leave a Reply

