Breakfast · Recipes · RECIPES · Snacks

Homemade Granola: Maple Pecan

SONY DSCI not quite sure why making granola was like rocket science to me. It has literally taken me months to come up with a granola making recipe/method that actually tastes like granola from the store. The first time, it was…well…like soup. Because I was trying to make a fancy cranberry orange granola and ended up adding waaaayyy to much orange juice, which of course made all of the oats totally saturated and soggy.SONY DSC

Then after that soppy mess, I thought “I’ll just bake the granola longer to get it niiiiccce and crunchy,” which of course filled my house with smoke and gave me a nice barbeque flavored granola.SONY DSC

Then another time I added the raisins before I baked the granola and they puffed up and the sugar totally melted and then burned (another smokey not so delicous flavor.) …and then…you get the picture? I had my fair share of granola-making-horror-stories.SONY DSC

This recipe though, I found to be completely satisfying. Grey and I have been enjoying granola in our steel cut oats. Is that weird? Oats with oats? Oh well, it is delicious. Especially this maple pecan.SONY DSC It reminds me of eating buttermilk pancakes on Saturday morning with maple syrup. … but I eat this throughout the week, and do not feel nearly as guilty as if I ate a tall stack of buttermilk pancakes…with butter…and maple syrup…and powdered sugar everyday of the week. (Can you tell this girl loves her pancakes?)SONY DSC

I hope you enjoy this yummy recipe for Maple Pecan Granola!

Maple Pecan Granola 

(Printable Recipe)

Ingredients:

2 cups rolled oats

1/2 cup flaked coconut

1/2 cup whole pecans

12 cup flaxseed

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup maple syrup

1/4 cup honey

1/3 cup olive oil

1 tsp maple flavoring

1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Combine first five ingredients in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk together remaining ingredients. Pour wet mixture over dry mixture and combine until evenly coated. Spread onto a greased 15x10x1 baking pan. Bake in a 300 degree F oven for 30 minutes, stirring half way through the cooking time. Remove from oven and immediately turn out onto another baking sheet. Allow granola to cool and store in an airtight container. SONY DSC

Have a happy hump day!

 

Love, Grey & Brianna

 

3 thoughts on “Homemade Granola: Maple Pecan

  1. Looks and sounds delicious. I have to start making homemade granola for my little one. She’s allergic to every single nut. :/ lets hope it turns out.

    1. Kids would love this recipe, and since your little one is allergic you can omit the pecans or any other ingredient that she doesn’t like. Plain honey and oat granola is pretty good too 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

