Books · Kitchen Table

Book, Coffee, Biscotti: Sparkly Green Earrings.

sparkly green earringsLast weekend, Grey and I went to Barnes and Noble. I usually head straight for the gardening, DIY, country living section. As I was gathering up my books and finding a comfortable place to sit, so I could assess whether or not I was going to make a purchase, I saw the cover of a book that I had just read about. Sparkly Green Earrings.

I had just found the big mama blog, literally two days before and made a mental note to read this book. Because my attention span is a good….oh…3 minutes long, I completely forgot when walking into Barnes and Noble, that I had made a mental-not-so-sticky-note three days before. But somehow, there it was, gleaming at me with it’s metallic green writing. “Reeaaadddd mmmeee.”

So I picked it up, grazed the back cover and opened it up, started reading, and didn’t stop. I didn’t stop until eleven o’clock that Saturday night when I couldn’t fight my need to sleep any longer. I finished it as soon as I got up that Sunday morning during breakfast.

What a true pleasure it was to read this book! I literally laughed out loud. Grey even let me read a little to him, and found amusement at the “potty training chapter.” Sparkly Green Earrings is a memoir about motherhood that brought me so much joy. After reading the book, I feel like I know the author, Melanie.

She writes as if she was talking to a girlfriend throughout the entire book, as she recounts memories from her pregnancy, birth, and raising her daughter. I just wanted to share this delightful little treasure I found…I hope you find the time to read it!

Have you read it yet? Love it? Let me know!

Oh yeah! Happy Spring everyone!

SONY DSC
Sonoma Springtime flower.

Love, Brianna

 

Leave a Reply

