GRATITUDE · Holidays

2012: Our first Year.

Christmas is over. Slowly all of the: lights, sparkly decorations, and trees are disappearing. There are no more red buckets with Christmas bells ringing outside every store; and boxes of dried fruits, nuts, and candies inside for sale anymore. This year is coming very quickly to a close, and I cannot help but to reflect on this past year, and how wonderful it has been.

2012.
2012.

I am remembering the start of this year, before Grey and I were even living in our little home. For the first three months of 2012, we stayed in the guest house of some close family friends (while our house was a construction zone)–free of charge. Every time I think if it, I feel forever grateful for the generosity of this warm and giving family.

SONY DSC
The paint being added to our little home. 2012
The guest house. 2012
The guest house. 2012

During those first months of our marriage, I started the career, that I am currently employed. The one that seemed impossible, but is now possible. I could not have gotten through without Grey, family, and prayer.

May of this year, I finished a five-year project of getting my four-year-degree. 🙂 Thank you Mom and Dad for all your love and support throughout my college career.

May 2012.
May 2012.

SONY DSC… and during the last day…of the last semester…and the last final; guess who was there? Grey. He stayed with me in the university library until 11:58 pm as I submitted the answers to my last final…which was due before 12:00 am ;).

Monterey 2012.
Monterey 2012.

…and then there was summer. Last summer we took a very eventful trip to Monterey, climbed Brokeoff Mountain, did extensive amounts of canning, finished the first chapter of the “zucchini project!,” and went to the Sonoma County Fair. Undoubtedly the smell of BBQ, fresh cut lawn, swimming, and driving with the windows rolled down are what summer is all about. I remember those qualities heightened at the peak of this year.  “After a very summery summer, I am finally glad that it is cooling off,…” I wrote in my journal when fall started to arrive.

Brokeoff Mountain 2012.
Brokeoff Mountain 2012.

SONY DSC

SONY DSCI remember when the “it’s fall time!” feeling first hit me, I instinctively whipped up a big pot of white chicken chili. Grey and I ate it and played 6 games of Gin Rummy after dinner. Later in the season, I bought a strand of faux autumn leaves and Coco and I took a trip to Julia’s Fruit Stand, to check out the pumpkin supply. It seems like from here the year just completely spiraled into Thanksgiving…our first anniversary…then Christmas…

SONY DSC

At Cattleman's. Our first wedding anniversary! 2012
At Cattleman’s. Our first wedding anniversary! 2012
A wedding gift--Christmas ornaments.
A wedding gift–Christmas ornaments.

…and now…The New Year.

Days, weeks, (heck!), years go by so quickly! I hope when you look at your calender for 2013, you don’t look ahead to the days to come longing what they have in store. I pray that you accept the moments of the day (no matter what they entail), and enjoy savor the full days of your life.

Have a wonderfully lasting New Year everyone.

**Blessings**

Love, Grey and Brianna. 

 

Leave a Reply

