Recipes · Snacks

Homemade (Flour) Tortilla Chips

Hi everyone! First off, I have a little story that led me to this post:

Last Friday, a gentleman and his wife (I know from work) randomly asked me: “you like tortillas?”…I said “yes.” And he whipped out two large packages of homemade tortillas, (from a duffel bag) that him and his wife made. As he was giving them to me he said: “now you just try these…tell us what you think next Friday.”

Basically, him and his wife are trying to find out what kind of tortillas people like the best, and when he nominated me for taste tester, I had no problem accepting the offer! The first kind of tortilla is rosemary and olive oil, the second is pesto….um…yum!

Aren’t they beautiful?

After I had tasted both varieties, I was contemplating what to do with the rest of the tortillas. There were so many. and I didn’t want them to go to waste, so I settled on making tortilla chips. Yes. I would make rosemary olive oil and pesto flour tortilla chips for the first time. I invite you to give it a shot….trust me…totally worth it.

Here’s what you’ll need:

Tortillas (Homemade are best!)

Vegetable oil

Paper towels

Salt (if desired)

Let’s make tortilla chips:

Begin by cutting the tortillas into “chip-like” shapes (strips, squares, triangles, funky I don’t know what kind-of shape-that is, etc.) Basically, just cut the chip into a size that can be eaten in a couple of bites. 

 Next, Pour about ½ inch worth of vegetable oil in the bottom of a pan. Heat oil over medium heat (high heat will cause the chips to burn.)

 Prepare a landing space for the chips with a plate and paper towels.

I like to actually clear an entire counter space and cover the counter with double think paper towels so I can keep transferring the chip from pan, to paper towel plate, to paper towel counter. This way the chips can dry because they are not sitting on top of each other. 

Add 4-5 chips at a time to the pan and cook on both sides for about 30 seconds.

Place finished chips on paper towel landing site, if you desire to salt chips, salt before the oil dries completely. Continue with remaining chips. Serve with homemade salsa.

 Call up a friend, bust out some chips and salsa…fiesta!

Have a I-didn’t-know-life-was-this-awesome-kind-of-day (…and don’t forget it!)

Love, 

Grey and Brianna

 

Leave a Reply

