Canning

Sweet Jalapeño Peppers.

You ready to make something deliciously sweet and spicy? (head nodding… “uh huh.”) Well your in the right place! Lets make sweet Jalapeño Peppers.

Here’s what you’ll need:

2 lbs Jalapeño Peppers

1 TBSP salt

Cracked Ice

1 white onion

¾ cup apple cider vinegar

½ cup sugar

1 tsp whole mustard seeds

½ tsp tumeric

½ tsp celery seeds

All canning utensils

Jar size: half pint.

Let’s go!

Remove tops and seeds of peppers, half. (Be careful when seeding Jalapeños not to touch eyes or nose, the oils can burn skin.) 

Thinly slice onion. Place all halved, seeded peppers, and sliced onion in a large bowl, sprinkle salt over mixture, cover with cracked ice. Chill in the refrigerator for 3 hours.

Wash: jars, lids, and rings. Sterilize in boiling water canner.

In a large kettle: Combine Apple cider vinegar, sugar, mustard seeds, turmeric, and celery seeds. Bring to boiling. Reduce to simmer for 10 minutes.

Remove ice, and drain Jalapeño-onion mixture.

Add to kettle with the rest of the ingredients, bring to boiling, and reduce to a simmer for another five minutes.

Pack jars with Jalapeño and pour pickling liquid over them leaving ½ inch headspace. Wipe rims, adjust lids and rings. Process in boiling water canner for 10 minutes.

Wait 12 hours before testing seal. Top sweet Jalapeños on BBQ hamburgers, hotdogs, or favorite cut of meat!

Have a sweet-and-spicy-kind-of summer. 

6 thoughts on “Sweet Jalapeño Peppers.

  1. I opened a jar of your picked jalapenos and they are excellent. They are a great garnish with multiple dishes. I also tried your zucchini relish…Fab-u-lous!!! Thanks for the treats. P.S. beets are almost ready.

    1. Thanks dad! …Yum-o beets. Those are my favorite food to can 🙂 They just make the house smell like summer…or dirt and vinegar…whatever the smell…I love it. It reminds me of the summer when grandma taught me, and I spent the following 3 days in the kitchen canning 26 cans of beets. 🙂 ❤ Bree.

  2. How hot are these babies? (I am a wimp when it comes to spiciness, so have never dared try anything like this.)

    The wimpiness means that when I do slice up jalapenos (or other hotties) I use surgical gloves now, and toss the gloves carefully when I am done. There was just one too many misadventures of touching nose/mouth/eyes after chopping peppers.

    1. Ha! I am seriously thinking about buying myself some of those gloves. I haven’t touched my eyes or nose, but my hands actually start to burn after a while, when seeding. The second time I’ve ever made these, my fingertips were tingly the following day! The Jalapenos themselves are not that hot (when eating) but I would recommend those surgical gloves you were talking about for the preparation …’cause that can be spicy. 😉 Happy canning, Bri.

Leave a Reply

