Canning

A New Project, and Pickled “Heart Beets.”

Pickled beets are the first food item that I learned to can. My grandma taught me last summer. I had never canned anything, and was completely clueless about the process. Now, it is one of my most beloved hobbies. Grey and I, both, enjoy the entire gardening process…and canning/preserving food is like the cherry on top. 

Summer, 2011.

I am going to devote next week to reviewing what I have learned, since then, about preserving food (I hope to hear lots of input as well.)

Because I just learned last year, I would like to start from the ground up and, cover all the basics…the very basics. Knowing these simple minute steps, and pieces of information are the difference between edible and inedible canned food. I’ll cover the: who, what, where, when, how, and why of canning (to the best of my knowledge,) this week to get us started.

You excited? 

Hope you have a-learn-something-new kind of day.

One thought on “A New Project, and Pickled “Heart Beets.”

Leave a Reply

